You are here

Deputy Director

Professor Andrew Sinclair

Professor Andrew Sinclair is Deputy Director of the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute and a Professor in the Department of Paediatrics at The University of Melbourne. In these roles and as Executive Director of the Victorian Clinical Genetics Service at the Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne he is using genomic information to improve healthcare for children and their families.

At a national level Professor Sinclair co-leads the Australian Genomic Health Alliance, a network of over 40 organisations, that aim to integrate genomics into the Australian health care system. He is also on the Executive Management Committee of Melbourne Genomics which is implementing genomic medicine into routine care in Victoria. In addition, he leads an NHMRC research Program (2004-2019) focusing on disorders of sex development; genomics and diagnosis to inform clinical care. His contributions have been fundamental to the advancement of the field, including the identification and characterization of the human testis determining gene (SRY) and other genes critical for gonad development. He has also implemented new, accurate, rapid and comprehensive diagnostic procedures to improve outcomes for patients with DSD.

While President of the Australian Society for Medical Research in 2004 he led national advocacy efforts to increase Federal Government funding for health and medical research. He has served on numerous government committees including: the Australian Biotechnology Advisory Council (2005-2006) and been a member and chair of the NHMRC Grant Review Panel for Genetics (2007-2008), NHMRC Human Genetics Advisory Committee (2009-2015), NHMRC Assigners Academy (2011-2013) and a member and chair of the NHMRC Research Fellowships peer review panel (2014-2017). He is an editorial board member of several international journals. Professor Sinclair has received numerous national and international awards including the 2009 Sutherland Award for contributions to Human Genetics, the 2010 Emil Steinberger Memorial Award from the American Society of Andrology and in 2015 was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.