You are here

Consent in Research - the team

Lead Investigator

Dr Merle Spriggs. Postdoctoral researcher in ethics at the Murdoch Children's Research Institute, Melbourne. Dr Spriggs has a PhD in bioethics and is author of Autonomy and patients' decisions. She is a former Editor of Monash Bioethics Review and former Associate Editor of the current controversy section of the Journal of Medical Ethics. Her main research interests are research ethics and informed consent. She has extensive experience as a member of Human Research Ethics Committees.



Associate Professor Lynn Gillam is the Clinical Ethicist at the Royal Children's Hospital in Melbourne, Associate Professor in Health Ethics at the Centre for Health and Society School of Population Health, University of Melbourne and Principal Research Fellow in Ethics at the Murdoch Children's Research Institute. Assoc. Prof. Gillam teaches research design and research methods and has extensive experience conducting qualitative research. Her research focus is on human research ethics and ethics committees and she has been awarded an ARC research grant in this area.

Associate Professor Justin Oakley is the Director of the Centre for Human Bioethics, Monash University. Assoc. Prof. Oakley runs the Centre for Human Bioethics internationally renowned Masters program. He is also the Chief Investigator in an NHMRC funded project that is related to informed consent.

Professor Colin Thomson is Chair of the Australian Health Ethics Committee and Professorial Fellow of the Faculty of Law, University of Wollongong. Professor Thomson has been the full-time consultant in health ethics to the National Health and Medical Research Council and was a member of AHEC from 1997 to 2002. During that period he was closely involved in the drafting of the National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Research Involving Humans and in the completion of the Human Research Ethics Handbook. He is heavily involved in research ethics / bioethics.